Susanne Siebentritt elected Vice Chair of Science Europe Scientific Advisory Committee

The FNR congratulates Professor Susanne Siebentritt on being elected Vice Chair of the Science Europe Scientific Advisory Committee. Professor Siebentritt has over the years secured multiple FNR grants and is also a recipient of an FNR Award in the category Outstanding Scientific Publication.

About Professor Siebentritt

Susanne Siebentritt is Physics Professor and Head of the Laboratory for Photovoltaics at the University of Luxembourg. Her research interest is two-fold: the development of new thin film solar cells and the semiconductor physics of the materials used in these cells. She is the author of more than 140 peer-reviewed publications, with more than 2100 independent citations. She is also a regular topical organiser at the European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference.

In 2014, together with Alex Redinger (AFR beneficiary at the time, now ATTRACT Fellow), Dominik M. Berg, Phillip J. Dale (ATTRACT Fellow), Susanne received an FNR Award for Outstanding Scientific Publication for their project ‘The Consequences of Kesterite Equilibria for Efficient Solar Cells’.

About Science Europe

Science Europe is an association of European Research Funding Organisations (RFO) and Research Performing Organisations (RPO), based in Brussels. Its Founding General Assembly took place in Berlin in October 2011.

In 2015, FNR Secretary General Marc Schiltz was elected to the Governing Board of Science Europe. He said: “Science Europe represents a powerful tool for the promotion of research on a European level: for a small country like Luxembourg it is an outstanding mechanism to make our voice heard.  This selection also reflects the growing visibility of the excellence of Luxembourgish research on the international stage”.

The Science Europe Scientific Advisory Committee provides scientifically independent advice to Science Europe on key European research policy topics and on the implications of EU legislative and regulatory developments. The Committee comprises 30 active researchers from 16 countries.

More information

This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics purposes. Find out more in our Privacy Statement